Some people believe that having sport in schools is a waste of time and resources, whilst other people believe that sport in schools is a vital part of education. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Some individuals think physical education in schools is not a good use of time and resources, while others believe that it is an essential part of education. In my opinion, although students get tired after playing sports, it plays an important part in keeping them physically active. To begin with, playing sports like football, cricket, basketball, and doing aerobics during school is a vital part of education. This is because it promotes fitness and physical alertness in children. Engaging in sports and performing exercises is beneficial for heart health and promotes overall physical fitness. This is beneficial for heart health and prevents many health disorders. For example, many children in USA suffer from obesity due to sedentary lifestyle as they spend most of their time on screens. Engaging in physical activity during school can encourage them to be more active during the day. On the flip side, sports can be a waste of time and energy. This is because playing volleyball, football, or cricket can be physically and mentally tiring for students. As a result, students may find it difficult to stay focused during the lecture of other important subjects like science and history. Thus, this can eventually affect their overall academic performance in class. For instance, students may feel sleepy and dehydrated after playing cricket outdoors in summer. Consequently, they may feel distracted while taking classes after the sports unit. To sum it up, I believe sports is a significant part of schooling as it is important for the good health of young students and can save them from many diseases including obesity.