Some parents want their children to read only serious educational books at all times. They don’t want their children to read entertainment books because they think it is a waste of time. Do you agree or disagree with this opinion? Why?

There is an interesting opinion that some parents believe that their kids should read only serious educational books since they think reading other kinds of genres is a waste of time. From my perspective, I totally disagree that children should be allowed to read educational books since reading books leads to a development of literacy and imagination. To begin with, reading different kinds of books would be beneficial for young people. Firstly, reading books enables children to improve their literacy. This is mainly because they can be exposed to various expressions and vocabularies while reading texts. Consequently, they will likely have a better understanding in their school life compared to others who do not. For example, in South Korea, numerous young children who regularly read books regardless of genre showed not only better academic achievement in their schools, but also developed communication skills with others. Moreover, this practice may be conducive to their imaginary ability. Whenever children flip pages, their brains predict and imagine what the next page is. This result in an improvement of their imagination. Hence, they should read a wide range of books. Furthermore, reading only serious educational books is counterproductive. Serious books, for example, may not attract youngsters' attention as that is not interesting for them. Therefore, they will likely be reluctant to read books. What is more, even they have the right to select books they like, meaning that reading books should be an enjoyable hobby, not a pain. In conclusion, as studied above, I personally believe that some parents should not allow their kids to read books for certain purposes since books can improve their imagination, expand their vocabularies and they have the right to read what they want.