In some countries, more and more people are becoming interested in finding out about the history of the house or building they live in. What are the reasons for this? How can people research this?

The renowned American Historian, Daniel J. Boorstin, has once said: “The greatest obstacle to discovery is not ignorance but the illusion of knowledge.” This is a quote that has deeply affected the way I see the world, and the way I perceive most essentially what we call “knowledge”. Perhaps, what Daniel J. Boorstin means when he says the illusion of knowledge is that it refers to the fact that we as human beings have adopted this false narrative that we do know everything, even when we actually don’t. Hence, let me make one thing clear for you; in today's world, you in fact don’t know anything… This is the paradox of the contemporary world. We live in a digital age, which makes us feel extremely lucky due to the fact that we have access to a vast amount of information with the rising digitalization. Now, finding information is just one button away from you. Thus, this is where the problem arises, not only access has become easier, but also the democratisation of information has taken place. In a sense, digital media has enabled the public to not only obtain but also to produce and circulate content. Hence, that is a very immense problem we fail to comprehend, but I will make it easy for you by simply saying; trust has become extinct. The absence of trust is mainly due to false information and narratives that we are being exposed to on a daily basis. Now, if you think about it for a second, there is a huge surplus of information and plus these are not all coming from authorized and reliable sources. Therefore, this matter of trust is very complicated and is an invisible crisis that we as human beings go through. When being subject to these false information, we start building our reality upon false narratives, living our life based on false beliefs, norms, and values. If you believe these are personal matters; you are entirely mistaken. Such a thing happening makes the world more complicated not only an individual’s life, because we have to keep in mind that what is personal is very much political and public as well. Presumably, misinformation brings many risks within itself; like polarization, poor decisions made by the public, erosion of democracy and manipulation of people regarding elections, public health and even different types of crises. Therefore, one thing I know for sure is that we should be taking the issue seriously and combating it with a cautious approach. My personal view of a cautious approach is one that demands transparency in platforms, a more powerful media accountability and increased digital literacy among people.