The growing prevalence of fake news and misinformation is a concern for many. What measures can be taken to promote media literacy and ensure that individuals have access to accurate and reliable information?

The renowned American Historian, Daniel J. Boorstin once said: “The greatest obstacle to discovery is not ignorance but the illusion of knowledge.” This is a quote that has deeply affected the way I see the world, and I perceive most essentially what we call “knowledge”. Perhaps, what Boorstin means when he says the illusion of knowledge is that it refers to the fact that we as human beings have adopted this false narrative that we do know everything, even when we actually don’t. Hence, let me make one thing clear for you; in today's world, you in fact don’t know anything… This is the paradox of the contemporary world. We live in a digital age, which makes us feel extremely lucky due to the fact that we have access to a vast amount of information with the rising digitalization. Now, finding information is just one button away from you. Thus, this is where the problem arises, not only access has become easier, but also the democratisation of information has taken place. In a sense, digital media has enabled the public to not only obtain but also to produce and circulate content. The absence of trust is mainly due to false information and narratives that we are being exposed to on a daily basis. Now, if you think about it for a second, there is a huge surplus of information and plus these are not all coming from authorized and reliable sources. Therefore, this matter of trust is very complicated and is an invisible crisis that we as human beings go through. When being subject to this false information, we start building our reality upon false narratives, living our lives based on false beliefs, norms, and values. Presumably, misinformation brings many risks within itself; like polarisation, poor decisions made by the public, erosion of democracy and manipulation of people regarding elections, public health and even different types of crises. My personal view of a cautious approach is one that demands transparency in platforms, a more powerful media accountability and increased digital literacy among people.