Today children spend a lot of their free time watching TV. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages of this practice?

In the today's fast-paced era, watching TV has become a major pastime among children. I believe that this trend has more demerits than merits. To begin with, one of the prominent advantages of spending excessive time in front of the screen by children is that it helps to disseminate information among them. The availability of news channels and cultural programs cannot only inform them about different events but also introduce them to international foreign contents, helping them to stimulate their cognitive development, and critical thinking skills. For example, if children watch Dhruv Rathee's show who provides insights into new and different perspectives, they can get to know about various things, such as global warming, current issues around the world, and some educational content. On the other hand, drawbacks of minors allocating more time for televisions cannot be overlooked. Firstly, health-related predicaments, such as obesity, eye strain, and poor postures, can arise. This is because thery have little time left for physical activities and they may overeat while watching. Consequently, it can further exacerbate weight gain and diminish cardiovascular fitness. Secondly, this trend can desturb their sleep and mental peace because exposure to some violent content may cause anxiety, depression, and instill fear. As a result, they find impedicaments to relax and sleep peacefully. To conclude, although spreading awareness among them about the world is the main drawback of the scenario, yet it can increase health diseases along with disturb their sleep time and mental peace, which are the main culprits of this trend.