there seems to be an increasing trend towards assessing student through exams rather than continual assessment. What are the disadvantages and advantages of exams as a form of assessment

The modern education system seems to be leaning more towards the assesment of students through exams rather than assessing them continually throughout the school year. While there is good that comes from this, there is also number of downsides. On one hand exams give pupils a clear goal to work to. Students have to learn to manage their time outside of school, study hard and often cram a lot of information in a shorter period of time. Not relying too much on their parents. This teaches kids to adapt by using effective, often creative learning methods to suit them individually and perform well under pressure, eventually leading to more independance,... Another advantage is that exams force children to be careful, to double check their work and to read the questions carefully. This helps students develop patience and critical thinking skills when having to come up with answers. On the other hand, almost all the positives come paired with a negative. First, taking tests a few times a year can give innacurate results of the students real capabilities. Students can be going through a rough time or simply make a few mistakes. Another point is that exams put a of pressure on students to have to learn so much in a short amount of time. As a result, information doesn't sink in or register well. Kid's often forget what they have learnt after the testsare over. Not just that, but tests often encourage dishonest behavior. Kid's learn to cheat and lie to their teachers, and anyone who doesn't partake in their cheating is often given the cold shoulder by their peers. In conclusion, while tests can be a good way of assesing students, i think they must be done as a supplimetal assesment rather than having the whole grading system revolve around them. Schools must learn to take more into consideration the negative affects of exams on students and appropriate action