Some people have decided to reduce the number of times they fly every year or to stop flying altogether. Do you think the environmental benefits of this development outweigh the disadvantages for individuals and businesses? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Many individuals have cut down on the frequency of flights or even made a decision of stopping travelling by air. Although this initiative can bring a number of environmental benefits, I believe its drawbacks are more significantly concerned for people and businesses including convenience and the reduction of logistics, respectively. On the one hand, there are variety of advantages which are resulted from the decrease in flying. One of which is the reduction of green house gas emissions. The production and operation of planes require a remarkable amount of resources and burning fossil oils, leading to excessive carbon dioxide released into our environment; therefore, it helps protect ecosystems. Moreover, fewer flights would improve air quality, particularly in areas near airports where pollution levels are typically higher. As a result, limiting air travel can play a crucial role in preventing our environment from pollution. On the other hand, the disadvantages of reducing number of times flying for individuals and companies are more significant. In terms of people, it can be highly inconvenient and time-consuming when they have to travel by alternative kinds of transportation which take more time travelling. Futhermore for business, supply chains may be disrupted by the absence of air travel, as goods would take longer time to be delivered, affecting customer’s satisfaction and firms’s benefits. For instance, thanks to the advance in online shopping, people now can buy whatever they want on online platforms; however, without air freight, products could require more time as well as money for customer to receive it, particularly when it comes from half hemisphere. In conclusion, while reducing air travel bring some practical environmental benefits, including the decrease in CO2 emission and better air quality, the initiative’s drawbacks for individuals and businesses are too considerabe to neglect.