In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is important for people. Why might this be the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

I wouldn't say it is directly a possitive or negative development, but my thought is it depends on how the government of the country plans the way one country would be. Some countries allow people to own spaces and allow people to leave it as a family heritage, in that case, the owner of the house will have to take a resposibility of their owning stuffs or spaces including their home area. Therefore, the government can reduce its workload to some extent. On the other hand, taking care of the land is considered to be one of the government's responsibilities. That is the reason why they do not allow people to own any areas, intead, they only let people to rent for a very long time, so that they can always take care their land esier. Also, after the lease expires, the government can utilize those areas to its fullest potential. In conclusion, I think there is no possitive and negative between these two ways as it both have different pros and cons.