Some people say that the best way to improve public health is by increasing the number of sports facilities. Others, however, say that this would have little effect on public health and that other measures are required. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is argued that constructing more sport facilities only is sufficient to enhance the public, however other people say that adopting this measurement only is not enough. While the first argument is not completely wrong, I firmly agree with the latter. On one hand, raising the number of sports facilities can definitely have positive effect on the overall public health. This is because having a gym nearby encourages people to practice sport regularly, without the need to travel across town or even to another city to attend sport classes. Furthermore, investing in this infrastructure is worthwhile, since practicing sport on a daily basis is scientifically proven to prevent malicious diseases from developing namely; heart attacks and other brain fatal conditions. However, implementing this procedure only assumes that the vast majority of people is already healthy, which is not even close to the truth. Whereas increasing the number of sport facilities is only a piece of the puzzle, to put in consideration all possibilities, further actions have to be made. Focusing on perfecting the public health system by building more hospitals and buying the latest equipements, as well as raising awareness of hazardous habits is a more thourough solution. This is because while healthy people can practice sport, other people especially elders and patients with bone fractures are unable to do it. For example, patients who have cancer they need more actual medical care than practicing sport. In conclusion, while building more sport facilities can be benificial for people's health, the complete solution is to invest more in other crucial areas such as the health system itself and raise health awareness.