The involvement of youth in crime is increasing rapidly in most cities around the world. What are reasons for this, and what are the effects?

News about the young commiting crimes seems to be more common nowadays. This news often keeps people wondering: why the younger generations seem to be involved in illicit affairs more than they used to. In this essay, the main reason for this and some plausible effects will be discussed. The main possible reason for this is, paradoxically, the advancement of technology. Undoubtedly, technology has been so beneficial to our lives. But it comes with a price, which is social media. Social media has shown us the stark contrast between social classes. To teenagers and even young adults, those who still have not reached a certain level of maturity, are still constantly seeking for validations, which is detrimental. To some of them, the need to afford a luxury car, to post about their obnoxious lifestyle on the Internet has become a must, a proof to the world of their worth. As a result, they voluntarily throw themselves into fraudulent companies, commit crimes just to make money and pose for pictures. With everything mentioned above, it is clearly a very sad reality. If the young, even the small group of them, continue to live recklessly like this, they will waste their time, their potential, because they cannot see a bigger picture of what really matters. And even worse, if this lifestyle becomes more common, it may cause a stagnation in the growth of the whole society, as the young have always been playing a vital role in the workforce. In the end, when youngsters finally snap out of the sad reality, some of them can stand up and rebuild their whole life again, but unfortunately, some tragically cannot. To conclude, young generations today are under a lot of "false" pressures to prove their financial status on social media. This tangible cause can make them commit crimes to get more money. The consequences of this issue are undeniably devastating, not to any individual specifically, but also to society as a whole.