The internet has democratized access to information but has also led to some people believing false information or 'fake news'. What role do you think individuals, governments, and internet companies should play to combat misinformation? Provide specific examples and support for your opinion.

There is an ongoing debate regarding unreliable news. While some believe that internet has changed the way individuals access to information - more democratic, others argue that it has also led to misinformation. Hence the need of protection, not only governments or internet companies, but also each person plays a vital role in addressing these issues. I intend to offer a thorough analysis before presenting my own opinion. Regarding law-makers, the onus is on governments to combat these causes of false information. They ought to implement regulations and public awareness campaigns to handle misinformation. As fake news ' downsides like causing public confusion or distorting the reader's thinking is becoming increasingly widespread due to the rapid development of the internet. For instance, governments have to ensure platforms' accountability by requiring them to be more transparent, apply content moderation, and label or remove inappropriate content. Furthermore, laws against spreading fake news, including penalties or offenders, are a great way to fight wrong information and methods to identify them. To illustrate, in Vietnam, citizens can face fines of up to 7 million dong, or even imprisonment, for spreading false information that causes panic and controvers to the society. Overall, the government plays an indispensable role in addressing the problem of fake news. In terms of internet companies, it is fundamental for them to create and enforce guidelines against fake news. Facebook and Twitter is a prime example of flagging or removing misleading posts. What is more, it is noteworthy that they have to use advanced algorithms, so they can detect and demote false news quickly. A typical example is Google's algorithm updates help residents' trustworthy higher in search results. And most crucially, each human being needs to protect themselves to defense misleading information. Each person must cultivate critical thinking and digital literacy to verify sources before sharing. For instance, during the COVID-19 pandemic, those who cross-checked social media rumors with official health organizations avoided falling prey to dangerous medical myths. In conclusion, while acknowledging the merits of internet and news, I firmly believe that false information from internet poses countless dangers to people's lives. By empowering governments, internet companies, and people as well to participate meaningfully in the the fight against fake news, public can increasingly developed and prosperous.