In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is argued that elders choose to live in a nursing home, where they can have nurses to look after them. This essay agrees that the government should pay for this care because it should be one of the welfare programs provided by the government, and support households to reduce expenses in taking care of elders. In an ageing society, nursing homes should be one of the main welfare programs that the government should offer, especially in countries, where people pay a huge amount of taxes, as when they earn money after tax deduction, some people might have only a small amount of money left. So, it is difficult for them to save up for their retirement, as a result, tax payers tends to rely on the government. For example, if you are more than 80 years old, you can register at the social council or submit the request to live in a house with nurses provided. In addition, everyone should be able to access this welfare for free. Also, their families do not need to be worried about leaving the elders at home for work because there are caregivers constantly checking on them. Moreover, the inflation rate has been increasing, the household costs have also been raised, thus, if the authorities support the expenses of aged care, it helps the populace to reduce the costs that they need to spend on supplies, e.g. eldery diapers, shower chair, ventilator, etc. Furthermore, elders require intensive care, especially for their health; they might often be requested to go to the hospital for a checkup, so their family need to spend both time and money on that. In some cases, when the family members cannot go to work, they will not get paid on that day, which means they lose their income. In conclusion, aged care or nursing homes should be under the government's responsibility, as it should be considered as a basic welfare that everyone has got an authority to access, and to help people to reduce the expenses in aged care.