Some people believe that in order to reduce crimes, prisoners should be given longer prison sentences while some people think there are other alternative ways. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

An increasing number of people have started to discuss whether longer jail terms are a better way to reduce the crime rate. From my point of view, I agree that it is not an effective way to reduce the crime rate by putting criminals in jail. Among numerous reasons supporting my ideas, the primary one is that prisoners should be prepared for their life after the completion of sentence terms. If they do not have any practical skills which enable them to make a living, they would commit a crime repeatedly. Therefore, criminals should be trained to have some practical skills. Take the Taiwanese criminal justice system for example. A series of vocational training is provided in order to equip inmates with essential skills for their future survival. Some of them attend baking and cooking courses, and some are taught how to repair electronic devices. By doing so, they can lead a great existence and avoid engaging in criminal activities for survival afterward. Those who hold different views might argue that the best way is to imprison offenders for a longer time. Longer imprisonment can effectively deter people from crimes because most of us are afraid of losing freedom. At first glance, their argument seems to be plausible; however, they might leave some other important facts out. The root cause of most criminal acts is a miserable life, which cannot be solved by throwing a person in jail for a longer time. We should, therefore, help them get rid of it, instead of punishing them for their unlawful behaviours. To conclude, as far as I am concerned, longer jail time is not effective because it does not deal with the problems completely. We should provide education for criminals so that they have a chance to lead a better existence and to know the importance of following laws.