Many people disagree with a school policy which forces children to learn new languages. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

First of all, it is necessary to highlight that every school has its own methodology and curricular grade or programme in which all the subjects that are part of that grade are listed. That is called "curriculum". It is not correct to say that there is a " school policy that forces children to learn a new language ", because that is not either a policy nor forces children to anything. That is, in truth, a school program, and it is assesed by competent bodies and high standard professionals that examinate the programe and decide which subjects are appropriate for each age range. Just like matemathics, science, geography or history, languages are part of a full calendar prepared in order to develop different skills, acording to each student's grade level. Besides that, in a globalized world it is extremely necessary to learn other languages. Despite the field in which every student decide to follow in the future, learning a language enhances not only communication skills, but memory, logic and cognitive capacity. In my opinion, people who disagree with that, should find a college and a programe more aligned to their belief. Instead of trying to drop language subject off school, I encourage them to search all the benefits involved in learning languages and understand the importance of that to a child's brain. Therefore, whether if it's for communication purposes, cultural or even to prepare students for their career, learning a second language can only be positive. Even more during childhood and adolescence when the brain cells are still developing and absorve a new language is yet easy and much faster then when in adult phase. In conclusion, children are subjected to what adults and especially parents decide for them, in this case deciding to interfere in a curriculum that offers the opportunity of learning languages for whatever reason goes a bit against whats is believed to be the best for them.