Nowadays, a large amount of advertising is targeting children, and it should be banned because of its negative effects. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In modern society, a majority of adverts are catering to children and this should result in a ban because of its negative effects. Although advertising can be beneficial in some cases, overall I strongly believe it does more harm than good. Firstly, the younger the children are, the more impressionable they are. This means that they are susceptible to manipulation, especially through ads. With no proper regulations concerning how and where ads can appear, this makes it extremely dangerous for young people to navigate the internet. For instance, many games that market themselves as free, compensate through the use of ads. This exposes children to various instances of inappropriate content. Subsequently, they can be influenced to adopt close-minded ideals and negative behaviours, such as being hateful of certain groups of people or even individuals. Another reason for banning adverts targeting children is linked to consumerism. As previously said, children are easily impresionable so marketing something that is trying to attract them can lead to overconsumption. Parents want to indulge their children's wishes as much as possible, which more often than not, makes it difficult for parents to refuse their offspring wishes, although it might not be in their best interest. Furthermore, this puts even more pressure on lower income households that need to prioritize needs above fleeting wishes. However, this does not make it any less difficult for parent to have to disappoint their children. For example, a new toy that had multiple previous itterations, may not be what the child needs, but it is still upsetting as a parent to make the decision of distressing your child. In conclusion, I firmly believe that advertisments targeting children should be banned, or at the very least heavily regulated by governments, to diminish its negative effects on individuals.