Some people believe that technology has made learning easier and more effective, while others think it has created more distractions and reduced the quality of education. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

With the rise of technology, some people think that it has improved learning, making it more effective while simultaneously easier, while others argue that high-tech has created various distractions and reduced the overall quality of education. While there are strong arguments in favour of each opinion, I firmly agree with the former view. Throughout the years, technology has become a great asset to many areas of life, one being education. It has greatly changed how individuals study and learn about a variety of topics. Firstly, it can serve as a valuable tool for teachers. Classes become easier and more interactive through the use of technology which can help students retain information more effectively. A variety of items can be used in this, such as laptops, projectors, and even virtual reality (VR) to introduce a diverse way of teaching. For example, with the use of VR, children can experience ancient civilisations or navigate nearly unreachable locations, such as space or underwater life. Furthermore, the internet is a reliable source of information, with diverse topics that are not always fully developed in school. A subject like history has enormous amounts of detail, that simply can not all be fitted into the school curriculum. This makes it a great opportunity for passionate people to explore further on their own, gathering additional knowledge. Although exceptionally helpful, it can also cause many distractions. The internet provides many temptations which can make students lose focus, such as communication apps or engaging with non-educational content. For instance, the overuse of social media can affect study time. Nonetheless, this can also provide students improve their discipline and prioritising education over entertainment. Subsequently, technology could also decrease the quality of education through the mass of misinformation online. This can affect young and impressionable students and deter them from learning correctly. However, this can be addressed with teachers reinforcing any new knowledge that the students learn. In conclusion, while technology could create problems for education, I strongly believe that it has improved the education system, by providing endless useful information.