In many countries, governments are spending a large amount of money on improving internet access. Why is it happening and do you think it is the most appropriate use of government money?

In the modern era, the internet is one of the most important basic needs in people's daily lives. There are some notable reasons why most countries invest more money to improve their internet connection. Although there are other sectors that should receive more priority, the reasons are outlined below. On the one hand, there are many reasons why the state invests more money in developing the internet. Nowadays, in developing countries, most people in the countryside and rural areas suffer from poor internet connections; as a result, they are not as progressive compared to the urban community. For example, if the government invests more money to develop internet connections, it will not only lead to technological development but also improve the communication system. In addition, by using the internet, citizens of a country gain more knowledge, which helps them develop cognitive skills as well as provides opportunities for remote work in foreign countries. For instance, most wealthy countries have better and more stable internet connections, which results in more digitally skilled citizens. So, improving the internet sector can enlighten a whole nation if people make better use of it. On the other hand, within a country, there are also some other sectors that should get more priority for investment, such as health and public transportation systems. Most people in poor countries suffer from poverty. So, in this condition, the health sector should get more priority than the internet. For example, if the government invests and takes some notable steps, such as offering cheap medical fees for marginalized people, then citizens will definitely receive better health services. In addition, in some countries, people have to waste most of their time during traffic jams. For instance, to solve this problem, the government should invest more money to develop the public transportation system and also in road infrastructure development. In conclusion, it can be said that investing more money in developing the internet mostly depends on the conditions of other sectors in a country. In my opinion, the government should create a well-balanced budget according to the overall country's structure and position.