The rise of social media has affected personal relationships and social as a whole. Do the advantages of using social media for communication outweigh the disadvantages?

The presence of social media has transformed the patterns of relationships. This essay discusses the reasons why the merits of this phenomenon in terms of fast communication and being able to communicate widely, outweigh the drawbacks of it not being able to identify body language and the difficulty of making new friends. There are numerous beneficial merits of using social media to communicate. The main one is the ability to send messages and replies actively and very fast. For instance, individuals nowadays use social media in terms of gaining these valuable characteristics to get a haste and to connect strongly with their friends. Thus, it has been reported in the magazines that this trend is getting to the next level due to the advantageous consumers results. However, the main drawback of using social media for communication is the difficulty to identify body language. The primary reason is that every single text and voice message can' t really express the true feelings of the speaker. In other words, after sending a text the reader can' t realise any emotions toward it clearly but just being able to receive facts or general information. A further point to consider, is the difficulty of making new friends; while you can' t read body language, you can' t precisely trust the person; and that is another reason. In conclusion, the benefits of communicating using social media easily and very fast seem to outweigh the disadvantages of not being able to identify body language and the difficulty of making new friends.