University should accept equal numbers of male and female students in every subject. To what extent do you agree or dissgree?

Nowadays, people discuss if universities should take the same numbers of men and women for all subjects. Some people think this is fair, but I disagree with this idea. I believe it is more important to look at the marks and interests of students rather than their gender. Firstly, the most important thing for university is the grades. If a girl has very high marks in math but the university says they have enough girls, she cannot enter. This is not fair for the student. Universities should choose people because they are smart and work hard. If we force equal numbers, some students with lower marks might get in just because of their gender. This is bad for the quality of education in the future because we need the best scientists and doctors. Secondly, different genders often prefer different jobs. For example, in physical sciences or engineering, many boys want to study these things. On the other side, in nursing or teaching, more women usually apply. If a university must have equal numbers, they might have empty seats in engineering if not enough women apply. This is a waste of money and resources for the country. It is better to let people choose what they like to do in their lives. In conclusion, I do not agree that universities should have 50/50 male and female students in every subject. It is better to choose students by their abilities and let them follow their own interests. This way, every student has the same opportunity to succeed.