A lot of places in the world rely on tourism as a main source of income. Unfortunately, tourism can also be a source of problems if it is not well-managed. What are the advantages and disadvantages of tourism in the modern world? Do you think that the benefits of tourism outweigh its drawbacks?

The financial activities of many countries depend on tourism. There is an argument that travelling contributes to the economy, while another states that it brings a lot of drawbacks to that area. This essay will demontrate that how tourism can transform the infrastructure and increase souce of income, but it also brings crime to the local area, and makes the environment dirty. On the one hand, when a lot of individuals visit a place on holiday, the citizens can make more money by selling local stuffs. For example, when many people know and go to Vietnam to travel, a huge number of restaurants and coffee shops open to serve the visitors. Moreover, the more places are visited, the more investments are attracted by governments and overseas. Thus, many hotels and beautiful landscapes can be built. On the other hand, while people come to enjoy your vacations, there are also a lot of criminals in that area who will steal your bags anytime. Furthermore, the quality of air and soil can be polluted by environmental problems. For instance, when a lot of travellers visit, they can bring more garbage to that area. In conclusion, the locals can make more money for living and build up more resorts when having travellers. However, if a lot of people visit that area, it will lead to overcontrol by crime and a bad affect to the environment. Due to its disadvantage, the development of tourism has to be planned carefully to avoid a bad affect to the local.