Many offenders commit more crimes after they serve the first punishment. What does this happen, and what measures can be taken to solve this problem?

It is believed that many offenders commit more crimes after they serve because the prison system is not effective, in most of the cases. One big measure that could be taken to solve this problem is implementing a program that take care of the prisoner reintegration in society. Body · 1 Nowadays, most of the countries don't have a solid project to accompany convicts after serving their sentence. Which means that they are literally released from jail with the same problems that they had before and maybe even carried with more frustration after the time wasted there. Body · 2 Public Security departaments should have an extension of their service to follow up and support these convicts from their first day of freedom. This would include a massive support network with subsidies for accomodation and psychological treatment. Body · 3 Furthermore, public system could also offer employment programs and educational scholarships to give them the right tools so that they will be able to build a new beggining. Body · 4 Scandinavian countries, such as Norway and Finland, are ranked in first and second place respectively, as countries with the lower number of recidivism in crimes. It is probably not a coicidence that these countries have big projects and a good network between departaments to make prisoner return in community positive both for them and for society.

In conclusion, in most of the cases, offenders have no support to restart their lives outside prison and because of that ended up commiting crimes again. To avoid it, government should invest in efficient programs that, in fact, look at these people and help them to create a new story.