Nowadays, more and more older people who need employment have to compete with younger people for the same jobs. What problems does it cause? What are the solutions?

During recent years, employment has become increasingly difficult to find. One of the main reasons for this is the large number of people applying for the same jobs, including both younger and older workers competing for the same positions. In this essay, the negative consequences of this situation, as well as possible solutions, will be discussed. One major problem of this competition between generations is the difference in physical abilities. In general, younger people tend to be stronger and have greater physical resistance than older individuals. This can disadvantage older workers, especially in jobs that require physical effort. A clear example of this can be seen in sports. For instance, in judo, competitors are divided into categories based on age and weight, ensuring fairness among participants with similar physical conditions. In the same way, one possible solution would be the creation of laws aimed at supporting workers who have more difficulty finding jobs. A relevant example of this type of public policy is the system of racial quotas in Brazil. Due to the historical racial inequality caused by slavery, these policies have provided many people with opportunities to study and access better jobs. Although the racial issue is different from the generational problem, similar policies could be applied in this context to create more equal opportunities. In conclusion, the competition between younger and older people in the job market can lead to several problems. However, if properly addressed, it can be improved through government action. Therefore, public authorities should take responsibility for tackling this issue and consider implementing policies such as a quota system.