There is an increasing trend around the world of married couples deciding not to have children. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for couples who decide to do this.

The number of married couples without children have been increasing in recent times. There are many benefits, as well as downsides to this trend. When having children, it is a given that a lot of your time and effort will be spent on looking after them. Particularly in the early stages, a lot of sacrifices will have to be made with your career and other aspects of life. Many people might not be willing to give that up, as not having kids would enable them to be fully committed to their work. It also costs a lot of money to take care of your offspring, which the couple may be considering investing into something they consider more important. If you as an individual are also unsure of whether you can give the child the attention he/she deserves, then it is safer for you and the child if you decide not to have any in the first place. Equally, there are many disadvantages to not having children too. Modern society has been built with the help of strong communities and these would cease to exist if everyone decided to stop building their families. Families with rich histories and important contributions to our lives, that have been around for generations would disappear. There would be nobody left to carry on their legacy. Having grandchildren is one of the biggest joys in life in my opinion, and deciding not have any children would take away that gift from your parents. In conclusion, raising children is not something that may be suitable for all partners. It is a decision that comes with huge risks, and one that should be made only after careful consideration.