Some think that politicians should always be honest while others feel that there are times when they must lie. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

Most people believe that politicians should always tell the truth to the public, while others have a different point of view that sometimes, due to the confidentiality, they cannot share everything honestly. In my opinion, I support the idea that national leaders should mislead the public when necessary but in most cases, they should be truthful. It cannot be denied that decent belief from citizens toward the political system is essential for the stability and development of a country. Especially in today’s world when the information can be shared and accessed easily from different sources, politicians are highly aware of the importance of information accuracy. Hence, most of them choose to be straightforward and honest to gain accountability from society. Furthermore, it is widely believed that citizens have the right to acknowledge what is happening in the country so that they can prepare themselves as well as share empathy to the government when any policy changes. However, there are cases when deceiving the public would be the better decision for national leaders, especially when it comes to the country's security. Information such as military investment, strategies, troop movements are usually considered as top secret which help the nation to preserve advantages in border and sovereignty defense. Additionally, there is another area where politicians do not fully conceal the truth is diplomatic policies under negotiation. This is because complete transparency at this stage could undermine strategic interests and prevent both sides from reaching a workable agreement. In conclusion, since the public statements of national leaders are not only about themselves but may also make a huge impact on the public, although building public trust is a crucial job of politicians, it is even more important for them to be selective and aware of when to distort the facts.