Many students choose to take a gap year before starting university, to travel or gain work experience. Do you think this is a good idea or a waste of time?

Taking a gap year before starting univesity is a very common practice in european countries. Students are encouraged to travel or gain work experience before they actually start their academic journey. I believe this is an excellent idea and can bring several benefits to them in a short and long term. In average, students finish school in their eighteens or nineteens, either way they are young, fresh and full of energy to explore the world and live fully. Researchers from a university in Canada believe that the late teens are the best phase of life in terms of vitality, because our body and mind are in a good balance and able to absorv and process all kind of experiences. And this is why, they highly recommend students to take a gap year, especially in a place away from home, where they can learn different habits, culture, languages and to be resilient. Skill that, according to the research, is rarely learnt during university, as the focus stays more in career and work space. The same survey interviewed 50 students that had taken a gap year before starting college and 50 students that started the studies straitgh away, without any gap. The results showed that the students that took the gap year were feeling more fullfilled and confident about themselves and their future, while a significantly portion of the ones who decided not to go on a gap year regreted not doing that. Among the comments were mentions to a fast paced life, that rarely allows to slow down and enjoy quality time with friends and family. The students interviewed also said that it's quiet difficult to take a gap year after university, since the trend is to follow from the university to a work space and career, changing the dinamic of life. In conclusion, a gap year before university is a positive practice and enhances students capacity of adapting to different enviroments and people.