Task2 Should a city try to preserve its old, historic buildings or destroy them and replace them with modern buildings? Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

Whether a city should preserve historic buildings or demolish them is worth considering to debate. I don’t think we should change it to something new or modern, as the old buildings themselves carry a story that has its own identity as well as a great economic value to the country. First of all, by maintaining buildings that remain authentic structures, it brings the sense of identity and cultural uniqueness. The history that speaks for thousands of years coupled with history that the next generation can study—their roots or even the interest in the culture or that particular country. For example, the Great Wall of China, which has been built for more than 500 years, holds a powerful story of their kingdom and has gained popularity from tourists. The identity that it has couldn’t be replicated by skyscrapers or high-rise buildings. Another reason that is worth mentioning for preserving their heritage is the economic development, especially for the countries that are emphasizing travel and tourism as their main source of income. People in the community will have more job opportunities, which drives an increase in employment. Local businesses can sustain and survive even if they don’t have corporate jobs. For example, their old heritage buildings can turn into cafes, restaurants, or hotels; however, they will preserve the building exterior while the inside interior is fully renovated. In contrast, if they decide to rebuild the new building, it is not only not worth the investment but also a waste of energy and resources. In conclusion, preserving the historical buildings are far more beneficial to the community, as it can maintain the identity of its origin and the economic support to the local people. Replacing the old building with the new modern one will not sustainable or practical.