An increasing number of people are buying what the need online. What are the advantages and disadvantages for both individuals and companies to shop online.

In recent times, a growing number of people prefer shopping online rather than physical stores. While this trend provides convenience for shoppers and boosts income for business, it may lead to closure of small-scale businesses and promotes overconsumption. One benefit of online shopping for consumers is convenience. People can shop from the comfort of their homes and save money on transportation costs. Those who quite a distance from shopping centres or may need to do bulk shopping can save their time and energy by buying online. For instance, most people can buy products online with an immediate delivery option or a few days. As a result, this offers convenience and reduces stress. Additionally, digital shopping promotes business growth, as it increases visibilty and attracts potential costumers. Therefore, the need to establish multiple physical branches may become uneccessary and business can save cost and focus on digital branding. However, online shopping contributes to consumerism may force small companies for close. Due to increasing use of online shopping platforms and excessive advertisements,individuals are persuaded to buy things they may not crucially need, leading to wastage and overconsumption. For example, many people are compelded to buy expensive products online as a result of celebrities influences or consistent advertisement on their mobile phones. Furthermore, local business may fail as they may not have the resources to go digital. This is especially for businesses run by those without digital knowledge, as they may run into loss, forcing them to close, due to the increasing use of digital shopping. In conclusion, although online shopping offers convenience and promote business growth, it drawback includes overconsumption and decline of local businesses. Therefore, to promote a better shopping experience, people should be encouraged to patronise both physical and online stores.