In recent years, more and more people are choosing to read e-books rather than paper books. Do the advantages of reading e-books outweigh its disadvantages

Nowdays, reading e- books rather than paper books is gaining more popularity among individuals.In my opinion, advantages of reading e- books outweigh its drawbacks. Some of the merits include easy accessibility and also, they are cheap and portable. In contrast, they pose health risks and distractions may occur while reading. First off, online books are very easy to access, meaning the reader can access books of their choice on any device they own such as a phone or laptop. With internet access, the reader browses for books they require on any platform selling e- books, for example, amazon. Secondly, e- books are cheap and portable. Since e- books do not require printing and shipping, production cost is cut significantly hence they are sold at cheaper prices. E- books can be downloaded and stored on one's device thus enabling them to have as many books in a single place thus a reader can carry all their books in a single unit. On the other hand, online books may have some demerits, including health risks. Long periods of screen time may result in disruption of sleeping patterns, eye problems and headaches. Staring at a screen for a long time can lead to parmanent damage of vision. Headaches induces use of painkillers which when used frequently, causes addiction or dependence. Another downside is distractions on the tools a reader may be using. These distrations include notifications of text messsages and calls, which make it difficult to fully focus and concentrate while reading. In conclusion, in as much as reading e- books may have some weaknesses, its strengths outweigh them. Therefore, reading e- books has gained an upper-hand compared to reading paper books.