Childhood obesity is an increasing problem in Australia as many as two thirds of children are now obese. Schools have a responsibility to monitor what their students eat and the amount of exercise they do. To what extend do you agree to this statemen

childhood obesity is becoming a major concern in Australia where a significant proportion of youngsters are overweight. Some individuals think that school should have the responsibility to monitor student's meals and diet. However, I do not fully agree with this notion. I believe parents and government can play a significant role in addressing this issue by guiding their habits and lifestyles. Undoubtedly, children spend most of their time at schools, and it is the responsibility of school management to guide students for healthy food choices and excercises. For example, schools can ban fast- food in canteens, and check lunch menus, and encourage them to perform physical activities to stay active. In contrast, I believe parents can contribute far more to addressing this issue. It is common to see children follow in the footsteps of their parents, and if parents buy unhealthy food for themselves then similar behaviour can be expected from youngsters. Therefore, parents should take responsibility for planning their children's meals, serve them fresh food at home, and encouraging them to participate in extracurricular activities. The government can implement strict rules and regulations in the country regarding the selling and buying of fast food items. For example, a ban on unhealthy items will discourage people from buying these items and then they automatically take turn towards healthy food. Moreover, the authorities can introduce awareness campaign to educate people about long-term health risks of consuming junk food. By promoting healthy food items at a national level, will definitely help to reduce the obesity in children. In conclusion, although schools can provide support in reducing childhood obesity by monitoring their activities, I believe the government and parents can contribute a far more to address this issue.