Fewer schools are requiring children to learn and improve their handwriting skills. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages of this trend?

Teachers tend to focus on students’ academic performance rather than on their handwriting skills, which leads to poor writing abilities. As a result, fewer educational institutions require learners to develop their handwriting skills. I believe that its drawbacks outweigh the advantages if the approach is implemented completely. One of the major disadvantages is that it causes a decline in memory performance, which may result in challenges in memorising lectures more easily. To clarify, having rich writing skills hinders learners’ abilities to enhance their academic success and remember studies as a visual memory by their eyes, which contributes to loss of memory and mitigates students’ academic achievements. Moreover, this pedagogical approach may be ineffective for their lifelong learning performance, and it may take more time to adopt these changes in education. Therefore, not allocating time to enhance learners’ writing skills may cause poor academic performance. Secondly, having good handwriting is essential for others to read accurately. The main reason is that poor handwriting may cause misunderstanding of their writings, which leads to lessened connections with other people and results in loss of communication with writing. When they write down necessary parts of the topic properly and clearly to revise or read these notes, they may struggle with understanding their handwriting. Consequently, poor handwriting causes misunderstanding among people and may result in loss of writing skills. In contrast, the main benefit of not developing handwriting is that people prefer to use technological devices and advances to communicate with others and take notes for their studies. Utilizing smartphones to type messages is more effective and convenient than writing down. Each tool is AI-based and provides users with opportunities to make conversations more easily, such as implementing voice recording and integrating speech-based note-taking apps on devices. Therefore, promoting handwriting skills is not essential for taking notes and paper- based communication replaced with technologies. To conclude, fewer schools need students to enhance and promote their handwriting skills. I think that its drawbacks - weaker memory skills, poor academic performance - outweigh the benefits if this strategy is implemented frequently.