In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finising high school and starting university studies. discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

In some parts of the world, young people are encouraged to work one year after finishing high school. While this break offers significant benefits, it also poses some risks. This essay will discuss the advantages and disadvantages for individuals who want to do it. To begin with, school leavers at the age of eighteen often have a very limited understanding of how society functions. Without exposure to the workplace and knowledge of different industries, it is hard for them to choose long-term career jobs. It is widely known that some pupils switch their university programmes after their first year of university simply because they were unsure about their goals at the outset. Volunteering and a year spent gaining work experience can therefore help young individuals to be informed academic decisions. On the other hand, breaking without guidance can end up with procrastination and loss of motivation. For instance, many students travel and partying in their break, then struggle to focus and prioritize important tasks, when college begins and eventually drop out. Therefore, the family support is essential for not procrastinating. Families should implement a plan for their children and set clear objectives such as saving a specific amount of money to prevent the year from extending indefinitely. Teachers also provide career counselling for balancing the momentum. In conclusion, a well-spent one-yearyear gap can be beneficial and powerful for self-improvement and self-discovery. With thoughtful actions, most people gained a purposeful university experience.