Some people think that strict punishments for driving offenses are the key to reducing traffic accidents. Others, however, believe that other measures would be more effective in improving road safety. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is argued that the best way to prevent collisions is through severe actions, while some say that alternative methods are more useful in ensuring road safety. This essay will discuss both perspectives, and explain how I think extreme measures are not needed to decrease on the road disruptions. On the one hand, implementing harsh penalties for breaking safety measures force motorists to be cautious about their manner of driving. Ignoring traffic speed limits and failing to maintain lane discipline can lead to serious actions against the person handling the vehicle. It was recently reported by the Dubai police, that a car without a license plate drove on a highway reckless style and at a speed significantly higher than the safety limit. Within twenty-four hours they had tracked down and arrested the offender, ceased the car in question and penalized the guilty party by cancelling their driver’s license indefinitely and issuing a fine of fifty thousand dirhams. Though this may seem excessive to some, it was a necessary step to discourage existing drivers from attempting to recreate such stunts. On the other hand, thanks to modern technology there are different ways through which road safety can be enhanced. First, by implementing a strong surveillance system that automatically issues a penalty according to the severity of the traffic violation. For instance, in Dubai there are monitoring cameras at every signal, street, and highway to immediately capture and penalize any irresponsible behavior while driving. Then, improve the infrastructure that will greatly assist in driving safely. For example, throughout the city of Islamabad, the lanes are painted fresh every year to prevent fading, along with street lights fixed promptly to ensure the drivers do not face any disruptions on the road. Next, making it a mandatory requirement for every driver to take a road safety online course annually, to ensure safety awareness. This practice proved to be very helpful in the city of Beijing, where traffic incidents reduced by thirty percent since the implementation of the course. To conclude, while strict actions of detaining and eliminating seem to be an effective way to maintain road-side safety. I think there are more practical systems available to prevent collision incidents and build a safer standard of driving.