Some people think that plastic shopping bags should be banned because they contribute to land and see pollution. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that landfills and oceans are contaminated by plastic shopping bags, therefor, it should be banned. While there are some drawbacks of banning plastic bags, I completely agree with the idea that these bags should be banned. There are a number of reasons why I believe that plastic bags should be illegal to use. One possible reason is that most of the pollution is caused by plastic wastes which is increasingly not only harming the wildlife but also our diverse ecosystems. Sea turtles, for instance, often do mistake of eating jellyfish as plastic in ocean, leading them serious injuries or even death. Another reason is that banning plastic bags from shopping malls encourage consumers to become more ecofriendly by using reusable bags. For example, if supermarkets or shopping malls provide paper bags or tree bags instead of plastic bags, that will make consumers aware of environment, which would in turn lead them becoming good citizens. Therefore, we should be adopted with using alternative reusable bags that would help to reduce pollution. On the other hand, some argue that banning plastic bags have a negative effect economically in our society. This is because, banning plastic bags will affect the small businesses that rely on them for packaging, leading them to increase the cost of their products. For example, small grocery shops or small food businesses who doesn’t have enough budget to afford alternative bags, will lead an increase in product costs which directly effects our society. Moreover, plastic bags are often lightweight and convenient for carrying grocery foods and other items making them a popular choice for consumer. For instance, plastic bags are often easy to use and handy carrying everyday moving-products such as food, grocery shops, clothes etc. In conclusion, although there are some positive views of using plastic bags, I would argue that the advantages of this practice are far more that helps us to keep sustainability to our environment.