Some people believe that governments should provide free healthcare for all citizens, while others think individuals should pay for their own medical treatment. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is widely debated that the states should invest funds in providing medical services to their citizens at no cost, while many scholars argue that people should bear expenses for their own treatment. From my perspective, I partly agree with this statement depending on the situation as government has to pay attention to other concerns also. To begin with, if people can have access to free medical services in their nation, then it enhances the quality of life and surroundings. This is particularly because irrespective of financial status, individuals can visit hospitals and clinics to get medical treatment at no expense. Another key factor is that people already contribute considerably to government funds by paying taxes which can be utilised for the betterment of the nation. It will promote people ’s positive attitude towards the states. For instance, during the covid-19 pandemic, government funding was used significantly to provide reliable and accessible medical services to the people free of cost, which saved many individuals’ lives and promoted dignity and humanity. On the other hand, individuals should take care of their own health care expenses to a large extent as the government has to allocate resources to political, trade, the military and infrastructure for the economic development. It is also important to note that the revenue from the medical sector is a significant source of government funds which is used for various purposes. Moreover, providing free medical services will result in crowded hospitals, leading to a decline in the quality of health care professionals and services as people will seek services for minor issues that increase workload pressure in health care system. Therefore, people should be encouraged to pay for medical expenses except in case of pandemic concerns. In conclusion, both the perspectives offer substantial and far-reaching benefits, I partly agree with the statement that the government should make efforts to adopt a strategy to provide free medical aid in case of pressing and emergency situations like covid. Besides that, individuals should be solely responsible for their treatment.