Some parents want their children to read only serious educational books all the times, and they think is a waste of time to read any entertainment books. What is your opinion about this?

Some parents think entertainment books are a waste of time and want their children to read only serious educational books. In my opinion, parents shouldn't think that books are a waste of time at all. Just because the book might not be an educational title it doesn't mean it is a waste of time, in fact, despite any label, books are always a source of knowledge. It is known that a children's brain is significantly different from an adults brain, this is due to their developing phase and it results in different rythm of energy, concentration and attention. That is why kids demands more dynamical activities. Childhood is the phase of life in which habits are build. Specialists state that the reading habit is easier when introduced earlier to kids, but the activity needs to be pleasant. Limiting kids of reading only serious educational books can make them associate reading to a burden and later in life, when they can make their own decisions, they migth decide stop reading instead of trying to read entertainment ones. For this reason entertaiment books are considered fundamental for building reading habits during this phase of life. Besides they also usually contain educational information, but in a simpler format. Some teachers defend that reading during childhood should be a leisure time and not only studying. A time to build their humor, imagination and creativity through all kinds of books. On the other hand, other professionals recommend to split the reading time between both genres, and bringing the educational ones with titles about something of their interest/hobby, in order to catch their attention. In conclusion, parents should incentivate kids to read, despite the genre. The focus should be in building the habit and making reading a fun moment, more than imposing what kind of books should be read.