In many countries nowadays, consumers can go to a supermarket and buy food produced all over the world. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In contemporary era, it is true that people are able to purchase food imported from other nations in local supermarkets. From my perspectives, this trend is largely a positive development, despite a few drawbacks. On the one hand, it is more convincing for me that the availability of global food brings significant benefits to consumers. Firstly, it enriches people’s nutritional intake and eating experience. People are no longer limited to local and seasonal ingredients, allowing them to satisfy all kind of nutrition and discover new flavors. Unlike monotonous local diets, globally sourced food offers exotic tastes, such as pairing Japanese matcha with French pastries. Secondly, the global food trade boosts international economic cooperation. In the past, famers and food producers sold only to the local consumers, but now this phenomenon expands their markets and increases incomes, driving economic growth on a global scale. On the other hand, it is undeniable to believe that this trend creates some problems. Long-distance transportation of food requires huge amounts of fuels, which leads to higher carbon dioxide emissions and worsens environmental pollution. In addition, the fact that traditional eating habits and culture may be eroded also deserves our attention. This is because exposure to diverse cuisines directly enriched cultural appreciation, which enlarge competition and danger to local food culture. In conclusion, although buying food from around the world causes environmental problems and threatens local food culture, I firmly believe its advantages are more significant, including improve nutritious diet, eating experience and national economic trade.