In the modern world, people no longer need to use food or products from animals, such as medicine and clothing. Do you agree or disagree with that statement?

I believe i disagree with this statement. Yes, humans may not need clothing from animals anymore, but they still hunt animals to the edge of extinction for their fur, teeth, claws or tails just to wear them as accessories. Human kind has brought thousands of different animal species to extinction, so this isn't just about humans "needing" the animals its about our greed. We will keep using the animals even if we are capable of creating artificial meat, medicine or food, because this society will always have the greed that brought thousands of species to annihilation. Tasmanian Tigers, Caspian tigers, dodos, passenger pigeons, American crocodiles. For example american crocodiles were hunted for their valuable skins used to make shoes, belts, bags and more. From the 1950s to the late 1960s, excessive hunting rendered the American crocodile endangered, bringing them near destruction for petty, simple things like accessories. Lastly, my favourite animal passenger pigeons; The Passenger Pigeon’s story is a grim one. It was one of the most abundant birds in the world - but by the early 20th century, their species had been hunted to elimination. Due to their abundance, (they would migrate in flocks of billions through the sky!), their meat was used to feed slaves and the poor, and they were slaughtered, quite barbarically on a prodigious scale. Therefore, humanity will always need animals, whether for their clothing, medicine, food, or so many more selfish and grim reasons.