Many aspects of the way people dress today are influenced by global fashion trends. How has global fashion become such a strong influence on people’s lives? Do you think this is a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, global fashion trends influence the way people dress. This is because public figures who have been hired by fashion brands are widespread in society. This could be a negative development because individuals should save their own money to use in emergency situations rather than buying many clothes. Firstly, the artists behind the global fashion trends are more popular in society. This is because people usually want to buy dresses that are worn by artists or public figures. For example, in a particular country, such as Korea, a girl group called black pink promote a brand called Prada. Therefore, people or their fans are encouraged to buy dresses from the brand that the group uses. Secondly, it is a negative development because people should save their money. One of the reasons is that fashion trends usually come from famous brands. Furthermore, it is quite expensive for some people; rather than buying a luxury brand, we can keep the funds, and they can be used in emergency conditions. For instance, many middle-class people in Jakarta purchase luxury brands without thinking twice about their money. As a result, when it comes to emergencies, such as mobiles suddenly getting robbed, mobiles getting broken, or both parents suddenly sick, they cannot afford it because their funds have spent on luxury habits. In conclusion, although artists get some profits from companies that hire them. I believe that global fashion trends can negatively affect people from buying many clothes, rather than saving money for emergency situations.