Some people think that governments should make public transportation free to reduce traffic problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this hectic lifestyle, there are some people who think that the higher authorities of any country should provide free transportation facilities for their citizens. Therefore, it can be beneficial for them to reduce the traffic. This step can also help them economically and mentally. To some extent, I agree on this viewpoint and my preferences are explained further. First and foremost, free public transport is a cost-efficient way to travel in day-to-day life. Hence, netizens can save money for themselves and their families. Additionally, it can help them to reach anywhere on-time without getting delayed. To illustrate this, a train can carry approximately 200 people at a time while the private vehicles can carry up to 5 people. Moreover, this method can help them to reduce pollution in the air. The less traffic can also benefit them in reducing noise pollution. As a result, people get relaxed while travelling from one place to another. Nevertheless, travelling without any charges can be a burden on the government as they have to invest a huge amount of money in vehicles such as buses, trains, etc. Thus, the officials would need to collect more taxes from their nationals. To exemplify this, they have to pay salary of drivers, maintenance of vehicles, and many more. Furthermore, the civilians may need to wait in the longer queue as most number of people are using public transportation. To conclude everything that has been stated so far, although it will be difficult for the administration to handle such investments, citizens can get more benefits by reducing travel costs and improving the environment. Therefore, I believe that the government should make transportation services free for its own citizens.