Many foods are shipped from far away. Some people think that eating local food is more environmentally and economically. Do you think the advantages outweigh its disadvantages?

Some believe that eating regional food is a better environmental and economical option than eating foods shipped from distant regions and countries. This essay will discuss the advantages and disadvantages of both these options, and I will explain the reason why I believe the pros of interstate or international trade of foods, outweigh its cons. Eating food that is locally grown helps farmers and distributors of farm-based products to maintain their businesses. Local crops are easy to grow, as the environmental conditions such as the weather and soil conditions, required to cultivate them are present, making it an environment-friendly practice. This also makes it economical as all the stakeholders involved in the process are aware about how to make financially-sound decisions due to familiarity with what they are dealing with. However, excessive reliance on regional food might be harmful as it could promote the monoculture of local crops. This could eventually deteriorate the quality of the soil, negatively affecting many businesses. Imports and exports of international foods and crops facilitates globalisation and improve trade relations between countries. It also provide consumers a wider range of products to choose from. It might sometimes allow masses to try a variety of foods that they were not familiar with. The recent hype around matcha across the world implies how shipping foods internationally could be advantageous. However, such trade deals could be expensive and tricky due to taxes, global politics and international regulations. Additionally, these foreign food items might cause health concerns among some individuals due to their poor quality or conditions such as allergies. Although eating local food is an eco-friendly and economical decision, eating food shipped from far away is a better alternative in the long run. It could strengthen businesses and produce large number of jobs across the world. It could help countries learn more about each other, enhancing global harmony. Therefore, I believe that the pros of trade outweigh its disadvantages.