Nowadays, there is a trend that reports of media focus on problems and emergencies rather than positive development. Some people think it is harmful to individuals and to society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Recently, we have been noticing a popular trend among the media to report information, emphasizing the issues and crisis instead of focusing on the positive changes. Some believe that this could negatively impact the viewers and the community, and I agree with their belief. By highlighting the problems and emergencies, the media helps the masses to understand the gravity of the situation. For example, towards the end of 2019, many media channels began reporting about the spread of COVID-19 virus. This proactive measure taken by them helped to spread awareness among people in the beginning of 2020, about how deadly the virus was, and its impact on human lives. Once the pandemic was declared, media houses also reported on the number of infected individuals and fatalities, indirectly reminding people how terrible the situation was, and reinforcing rules such as social distancing and sanitizing. Therefore, focusing on issues rather than positive development helps to spread awareness of the situation, reducing uncertainity in their minds. However, most media channels tend to report the same information for extended periods of time, until they find something else to report on. For example, when the US was at war with multiple countries in the middle East, most newspaper, radio and TV channels constantly communicated content that revolved around this, until the news regarding the Hantavirus outbreak on a cruiseship came to light. Excessive consumption of such information could impact the mental health of the consumers, overtime.Individuals might feel depressed and increased levels of anxiety due to such content. It could also instigate feelings of communal hatred, increasing the risk to public safety. Admittedly, postive developments might enhace the happiness and harmony in the society. However, solely focusing on the positive changes might not give a realistic picture of the situation, especially during times of crisis. For example, Although reporting on how many people recovered during a pandemic might make people hopeful about the situation, but it will not communicate the seriousness of the emergency. Only the number of infected people and fatalities, will tell them the truth. Therefore, I believe that media must focus on the crisis rather than the postive changes. Developments that are positive might give them relief, but they are usually misleading.