Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

While some believe that advertising encouarges people to buy thing that they do not require, others think that they tell about goods that could make our lives better. In this essay, I will discuss both these views and explain reasons for luring us to purchase products we do not need. Advertisements are usually designed to showcase the features of the products. They provide a short, appealing visual description, helping people understand how the product could make their lives easier. They are produced in a manner that people can easily recall the. For example, an advertisement for a washing machine might explain its various features and its use, by mostly focusing on how it would help the consumer avoid the manual effort involved in hand-washing dirty laundry. On the contrary, advertisements could subconsiously trick us into buying items that we do not need. Sometimes, they are thoughtfully curated to depict how good the product is, without informing the price or the potential ill-effects of the product. They potray how the products could change the perception of people, nudging insecure individuals to make a purchase. So, they could push people to make costly purchases or tempt them to buy harmful products. For example, advertisements for fairness creams claim that one can get fairer, contradicting the results of various research papers that have proven evidence that suggest otherwise. Therefore, I believe that advertisements might unitentionally tempt consumers to buy products. They help to spread the word about how certain goods could simplify our lives, but they could subconciously pressure us to make purchase we might not be able to afford or that might have some ill-effects on our physical or mental health.