Nowadays, more people are migrating to other countries than ever before. In order to become integrated into society in their adopted countries, immigrants should abandon their old ways and adapt to local customs and codes of behaviour. Do you agree or disagree?

In today's world, an increasing number of people are relocating to foreign countries compared to the past. Some believe that in order to adjust to the local community of new countries, immigrants should give up their traditions and adjust to societal expectations. Although I agree to some extent, I also believe that to become a part of a new nation, a migrant can respect their new social norms while preserving their own established principals. One of the primary reasons why I support this view is that individuals who have recently moved to a new country will easily adjust to the new cultural environment while adopting local cultural values. This is mainly because they will see themselves as a part of a new nation. As a result, foreigner will not miss their back home festivals they grew up with because they can participate in the celebration of the local community. For example, Canada is a diverse country, and Christmas is a famous tradition that is celebrated on a larger scale; in order to enjoy this, people get holidays for certain days. The newcomers who integrate into this new culture start participating in this occasion, even though they were not used to celebrating it back in their country. Therefore, it is clear that by adopting new countries' traditions, they feel connected However, I do not believe that newcomers should completely abandon their traditional norms and customs. This is because it can lead to loss of their cultural identity. For instance, many immigrant families continue enjoying their own traditional festivals and speaking their native language, while contributing positively to their new society. As a result, multicultural societies can benefit from cultural diversity without harming social unity. Furthermore, by respecting their own food, language and dress will make their transition smooth into new community. In conclusion, although both perspectives have their merits, I strongly believe that completely giving up one's own cultural traditions is not an ideal way to integrate into a new cultural environment because migrant will feel lost and stressed in the long run. Moreover, they can strike a balance between old and new cultural beliefs, while accepting new local customs.