The care for children is probably the most important job in any society. For this reason, all mothers and fathers must take a course that prepares them to become good parents. To that extent do you agree or disagree?

Raising kids is certainly one of the most important jobs in any society. While some people believe that all mothers and fathers must take a course to prepare themselves to become good parents, I disagree that a course should be mandatory. Although a course can be important and obviously could help parents to prepare for the journey of parenting, there are many other aspects to be considered. First and most important, it has to be considered that parents have different background and may have had previous experience minding younger siblings, nephews, nieces or cousins. In this case, they don't need to learn from scratch, since they probably know the basics and will be able to apply that with their children. Secondly, I believe that there are situations in parenting that don't follow any script or course, and for these situtions, parents need to trust in their instinct rather than fully follow guides with general information that might not be ideal for their kids. A course can give you hints but any child has their own reality and sometimes different methods should be applied. As for example, sleeping routine: families and babies have different life style and what could work in one case, could not be the best solution for the other. Besides trusting their own instinct, being humble and open to learn from people that already have kids and have already been there before would also be a wiser choice, rather than attending a scripted course. In the end, some parents might feel more confident knowing that they completed a course, in this, I would advise them to go for it. Nowadays, parents also have easy access to videos and books that could play an important role in preparing them to become good parents. That's why I still think it should be offered as an optional course and not an obligatory practice.