Some people say it is more important to plant trees in the open spaces in towns and cities than to build more housing. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is commonly argued that it is essential to plant trees in the green areas in towns and cities rather than housing developments. Personally, I can neither completely agree nor disagree with this view for a variety of reasons. I partly agree that expanding green spaces plays a vital role in terms of environmental and health benefits. It is because of the reduction of air pollution, especially carbon emissions caused by many factors such as heavy traffic, industrial activities. Furthermore, many cities without trees are facing massive climate impacts, leaving the local authorities struggling to find effective solutions. In fact, trees act as natural filters in order to diminish the consequences of the “greenhouse effect” and environmental issues. For example, many cities with high tree density are clearly making for a more livable environment. On the other hand, the necessity of building more housing is undeniable due to the growing population in urban centers. Firstly, more people migrate to cities in search of employment, having opportunities to advance good services, and the demand for accommodation is at an all - time high. Therefore, if city planners do not prioritize residential development, the shortage of housing in cities will lead to unsustainable living conditions. Secondly, lack of housing supplies will increase the standards in order to enhance their cost - living by affording personal expenses. For instance, research shows that poverty is getting more widespread in almost all big cities and capitals, which means citizens have to pay their taxes for governments in order to feed the homeless. In conclusion, it is widely thought that both planting trees and constructing new housing are essential for urban development. Green areas can help maintain a clean environment for citizens whereas building houses contribute to economic growth. In my opinion, city planners should balance these two needs by building high - rise apartments to save land for public parks.