It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction.

In today’s world, this is the crux of the matter that young people should comprehend the distinction between right and wrong during their formative years, a lesson that teaches them throughout their lives. However,I am of the opinion that punishing children is not an effective way of raising children and this results in dtrimental effect on their cognitive ability.In this essay, I shall explore both perceptions beforehand, coming to a conclusion. On the one hand, it is widely believed that, at the beginning of the learning process, every person could have made mistakes and it can not be achieved perfectly. Hence, relying on punishment as a teaching method can have notable improvements on children ’s ability.One of the obvious reasons is that, positioning punishment may foster a child’s cognitive development. Furthermore, this build disciplined atmosphere from a young age, which can have benefits in the long-term. Further justification is that, young citizens who grow up in a disciplined environment perform better in their professions. On the other hand, despite punishing children for their mistakes can have advantages in the long-term, this could result in chronic stress, anxiety and fear of making mistakes.The main argument of this viewpoint is that punishment tends to perpetuate negative reinforcement,instilling a sense of fear that discourages children from reassessing their beliefs and behaviours as they mature.These beliefs can undermine their self-confidence and ability to make independent decisions in adulthood. To conclude, even though punishment plays a pivotal role in raising young citizens, this can reduce their confidence and result in fear of making decisions independently. Instead, parents and educators should nurture a supportive environment where children learn through guidance and experience.