In some countries young people are encouraged to take a year’s break between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to take a gap year.

It is true that nowadays young people argue about taking a gap year after high school, which has important benefits such as having a mental break. However, there are also the negative aspects of taking a gap year like losing motivation for studying to be taken into consideration before deciding whether or not to take a gap year. On the one hand, the greatest benefit is that students will have a mental break of studying. Many people would agree that taking a mental rest could improve concentration a lot, which could lead to a massive enhance in productivity. For instance, when contrasting two students performance while one of them has took a gap year where he travelled and entertained his break, whereas the other student did not take a year break, you will probably found a significant disparity regarding their motivation and often their academic grades. Nevertheless, on the other hand, the main argument against this is that students who experience a gap year might lose intentions in completing their studies at the university. The reason for this is that students who taste the flavour of rest, might enter into a loop called “The rest zone”, in which students will get used to be lazy, until a certain level where they cannot leave this loop. This could leads to massive ramifications. And it may also cause students regretting their decision, and wish if they were adviced by an older people. Without good parental advice, terrible decisions can be made. In conclusion, I firmly believe that the drawback of losing motivation to study is definitely greater than the advantage of taking a mental break, this is mainly because i think that qualifications are critical, whereas, wasting a year on recharging energy and mentallity is not.