Some people believe that elderly parents ought to live at senior homes. Others believe that they should live with family members (blood relatives). Do you agree or disagree?

There is an ongoing debate regarding elderly parents, with some arguing that they should live at senior homes, while others believe that they ought to live with close family members. Although senior homes offer benefits to elderly parents, I firmly believe that grandparents play a crucial role within the family, so it is important for elderly parents to live with their family members. Body · 1 Supporters of senior homes claim that the main reason for this option is that elderly parents suffer from a wide range of illnesses. Such places mainly contribute to them performing their daily tasks by providing professional care systems, consequently enhancing their life expectancy. In addition, in such places, elderly people can interact with their peers and receive emotional support. For instance, senior homes in Iran offer diverse recreational activities and improved healthcare systems which help elderly individuals become healthier and happier. Therefore, such places foster a strong sense of satisfaction and enhance elderly people’s overall health. Body · 2 On the other hand, critics argue that elderly parents play an important emotional and cultural role in the family, mainly because their real-life experiences contribute to family members ’ development both personally and professionally. As a result, offspring should share the responsibility of looking after their elderly parents. As an example, grandparents offer valuable lessons about various aspects of life for their offspring which can positively influence their personal development and deepen their understanding of diverse subjects such as family traditions. Hence, such individuals should live with their family members.

In conclusion, from my perspective, while senior homes provide elderly parents with an engaging environment, allowing them to take part in various activities, grandparents often serve as valuable sources of emotional guidance and life experience, therefore living with family members is more beneficial for them and their offspring.