Some people say libraries are important in society as a place to get information and use books. Others say as computers are advanced, libraries are a waste of money and resources. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Libraries have been an important knowledge resource for decades. Before computers became the new norm, society relied on books to gain information with school work, university assignments, or even just to read stories. It is widely believed that physical libraries are still an integral part of society as they create community. Some might argue that due to the invention computers and its intricate and worldy data, information is now available at our fingertips, making the existence of libraries obsolete. Personally, I strongly believe in the latter opinion. Body Modern society has made information access very convenient through computers. You can get your hands on any book in the world with just a few clicks. It is a priviledge to be able to read a book that could be 100 years old and not physically in stock at libraries. The progress in the world of information databases have also given us the opportunity to gain access an open pool of editable information. For example, without being a student at Oxford University, a student could have access to all their published papers and could also connect to the writers of these published papers. Although, libraries served the same purpose in a primitive way, with technology taking over, the function of a library has day-by-day, become less valuable. It could also be argued that libraries not only provide information, but also provide a space for people where they could sit and work or study in silence. But, it is also important to know that alternative workspaces like cafes, co-working spaces now exist for the same purpose. Therefore, it is not extremely essential to have libraries in physical form.

In conclusion, while libraries have served us as a society for generations, it is imperative we move forward as a society. Technology has enhanced our lives in ways unimaginable and we should repurpose the fundings used for libraries to support more computer-based spaces.