Volunteer work organised by middle schools brings more benefits than problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Volunteer work has been promoted by many schools and even designated as a requirement for graduation. I agree that unpaid work is of great value for those young participants as well as the whole society, although it is a daunting task for some students.Serving communities can benefit students by expanding their skill set and broadening their practical experience. Volunteering provides them with opportunities to tackle many problems and challenges which are hard to see at school. For example, when they raise funds for charities, they need to explain the worthy causes they advocate to potential patrons. When working for museums, they learn how to introduce exhibits to visitors of different ages and address enquiries with patience. All these experiences could prepare them for complex communication situations in the future, when they enter the workforce and interact with people of different backgrounds.At the same time, young people can learn a sense of responsibility from the voluntary services they provide for communities. They know that their work can be beneficial to society and other members of society, such as disadvantaged children who need academic support to finish homework and overcome challenges in studies. This kind of experience can help them form better values and a stronger awareness of social contribution. On the other hand, some programmes may be poorly planned and may occupy students’ time after school and at weekends. When this happens, volunteers can struggle to complete homework and maintain concentration on their studies. Voluntary organisations therefore need to ensure that programmes are suitable for students and that participants are able to see the value of what they do. Overall, my view is that volunteer work plays an important role in developing young people’s qualities and improving their problem-solving skills, as long as organisations make appropriate arrangements for student volunteers.